What was pete buttigieg's rank in the military?

From 2009 to 2017, he served as a naval intelligence officer in the United States Navy Reserve, attaining the rank of lieutenant. He was deployed to Afghanistan for seven months in 2014 and was awarded the Joint Service Commendation Medal.