What's inside an hourglass?

A quantity of sand (or occasionally mercury) is enclosed in the bulbs of an hourglass. The size of the passage between the bulbs is so proportioned so that this media will completely run through from one bulb to another in the time it is desired to measure (e.g., an hour or a minute).