Who discovered pomegranates?

The Pomegranate probably originated in Persia, cultivation spread quickly throughout the Mediterranean and extended to Arabia, Afghanistan, India and China, where it was called the “Chinese apple,” the alternate appellation. It seems the pomegranate was domesticated about 8,000 years ago.