Why do dogs eat tree bark?

The main reason he likes to chew sticks is because he simply likes the way it tastes and feels in his mouth. Tree bark contains cellulose, which is a type of fiber. Some dog food manufacturers even add cellulose to their products, as fiber facilitates good digestion and colon health.