Which country invented chocolate?

Chocolate history starts out in Latin America, where cacao trees grow wild. The first people to use chocolate were probably the Olmec of what is today southeast Mexico. They lived in the area around 1000 BC, and their word, “kakawa,” gave us our word “cacao.”

---

It was invented by a now extinct culture that lived where the modern country of Mexico is located today before Europeans stole their lands.