What's the average speed a human can run?

Males run at an average speed of 8 mph and women run at an average speed of 6.5 mph. People running for their lives, not for recreational reasons can run at an average speed of 12 mph. Athletes and enthusiasts tend to be faster than the average person and may run at a speed as high as 14 to 17 mph