What is a gate belt?

It is spelled g a i t. It is a sturdy belt, usually made out of webbing material, a healthcare worker uses to hold onto patients who are unstable when they walk. The gait belt is usually used for patients who are wearing a hospital gown or pajamas and a robe.

---

A quick release belt that allows a caregiver to grab a falling person with out pulling on his limbs. It allows the caregiver to place the person on the floor, safely. Then it can be used to help the person up. Look at it as a safety device.