How do you cook ice cold?

An ice bath is used to quickly cool or chill foods directly after cooking. It's particularly used for vegetables boiled in water (blanching), eggs cooked in their shell, or custards. The process of plunging cooked foods directly in ice water to cool down rapidly is called shocking.