What is a roof made of?

A roof on a home for often wood covering the rafters, then a felt or tar paper underlayment for added protection is applied. Next it is covered with shingles such as shake, wood, slate, flagstone, metal, plastic, and composite materials such as fiber cement and asphalt shingles.