What is the difference between an air fryer and a convection oven?

In principle, they’re the same: hot air that is blown around in a chamber to create even heating. An air fryer is a smaller appliance, making it easier to store.

---

Air fryer is cooking food using forced circulation of the hot air (similar to convection ovens) around and through the food placed in the frying basket, equipped with dedicated gaps to assist the optimal air flow. As no oil or other fats are required for the frying, the food is generally healthier.