What is a portman do?

A portmanteau can be: a large trunk or suitcase, typically made of stiff leather and opening into two equal parts. or a word blending the sounds and combining the meanings of two others, for example motel (from ‘motor’ and ‘hotel’) or brunch (from ‘breakfast’ and ‘lunch’).