What's the difference between green onions and leeks?

Leeks and green onions both belong to the same genus, but are different species. While both leeks and green onions have a mild onion taste, leeks have a more subtle flavor and green onions more sharp. Leeks require a longer cooking time to become tender while green onions usually cook very quickly.