How long does it take to roast an acorn squash?

Heat the oven to 375°F. Arrange a rack in the bottom third of the oven and heat the oven to 375°F. Cut the squash in half from stem to tip. Scoop out the seeds. Rub the squash halves with oil or butter. Season with salt and pepper. Roast in the oven for 45 to 60 minutes. Serve.