How many people did it take to build the statue of liberty?

The statue was sculpted and created in France while the pedestal was built in the US, then it was disassembled and shipped to the US and reassembled there. One picture shows 15 laborers who assembled it--but there were many more. It took more than 6 years from creation to unveiling.