Why do chinese people bow to each other?

In formal situations, people bow slightly to greet one another formally. The bow is from the shoulders and should be greater if the person you are greeting has a higher status than you. Bows are a traditional greeting in East Asia, Japan, Korea, China, Taiwan and Vietnam.