What do you call a cotton pod?

The fertilized flower will shed in a week and reveal a boll, also called the cotton seed pod. The fertilized parts are ovules and become seeds. Cotton fiber grows from special cells embedded in the pod and lengthen. They are filled in by cellulose until the outside of the pod is dry and pops open.