What do wooly caterpillars turn into?

What Does A Woolly Bear Caterpillar Become? Woolly bear caterpillars turn into the Isabella tiger moth. You can recognize these moths by their yellowy-orange coloration, black legs, and small black spots on wings and thorax. The Isabella tiger moth (Pyrrharctia Isabella) emerges in the spring.