Why does warm milk make you sleepy?

Milk has small amounts of tryptophan, the raw material the brain uses to build both serotonin and melatonin. These are compounds that help us relax and prepare for sleep.

---

It's mostly psychological, especially if your parents gave you warm milk at bedtime as a child.