Why does warm milk make you sleepy?

It's mostly psychological, especially if your parents gave you warm milk at bedtime as a child.

---

Milk has small amounts of tryptophan, the raw material the brain uses to build both serotonin and melatonin. These are compounds that help us relax and prepare for sleep.