Tell me the story of the chinese zodiac?

The Jade Emperor wanted to select 12 animals to be his guards. He sent an messenger to spread the message that the earlier one went through the Heavenly Gate, the better the rank. Rat rode the Ox and arrived first, then Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig.