What is a beach nut?

A beach nut is the small brown 3 sided triangular edible nut of the beech tree. Collectively, the nuts are often termed beech mast, especially when lying on the ground. The nuts are edible but should not be eaten in large quantities. Beech Nut is also known as a popular baby food brand.