How long does it take to clean a messy room?

Depending on the mess, anywhere from an hour to five hours. Breaking up the mess into individual tasks helps move everything along. Start with picking up everything from the floor, then throw away any garbage leftover before vacuuming. Then other tasks are more easily managed with a fresh base.