What is star wars canon?

Cannon refers to officially acknowledged stories. Since the Disney acquisition of LucasFilm all released movies, television shows, comics, novels, and video games are considered cannon. Previous works outside of the movies and television shows are not considered cannon.

---

Star Wars canon was first defined in the first issue of the Lucasfilm magazine, Star Wars Insider: "Gospel,' or canon as we refer to it, includes the screenplays, the films, the radio dramas and the novelizations.