What's the difference between light cream and half and half?

Half-and-half is exactly what it sounds like, equal parts whole milk and light cream. It contains about 12 percent fat, which makes it richer than whole milk (which contains 3.5 percent fat), although less rich than light cream. ... It doesn't, however, contain enough fat to be whipped.