How long can somebody hold their breath underwater?

With the benefit of breathing pure oxygen first, the current Guinness World Record for holding your breath underwater is held by Aleix Segura of Spain at a whopping 24 minutes 3 seconds! Most people in good health can hold their breath for approximately two minutes.