How old do you have to be to ride a four wheeler?

There are no federal age limits. Each state has its own guidelines and laws. Some states require ATV riders to be 16 years old and have a safety certificate. Other states allow kids as young as 10 to ride ATVs with adult supervision. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends an age limit of 16.