Does blue cheese have mold in it?

Blue cheese is a general classification of cheeses that have had cultures of the mold Penicillium added so that the final product is spotted or veined throughout with blue mold that carries a distinct smell, either from that or various specially cultivated bacteria.

---

The mold on blue cheese is from the same family of spores used to make Penicillin. Blue mold on blue cheese means it's time to get the crackers out and start snacking.