Why do cartoons only have four fingers?

Productive cartoon artists tend to "keep it simple." Walt Disney was one of the first to use four-fingered animals in his cartoons, and his studio saved several million dollars on hand-drawn characters. The tradition of four fingers is embedded in cartoon creation.