Why is dwayne johnson called the rock?

In 1996, when Dwayne Johnson made his debut in World Wrestling Entertainment, he adopted the stage name Rocky Maivia. However, fans did not like it. In 1997, he began to drop the name Rocky Maivia and started simply calling himself The Rock, in a third-person manner.