Who invented the sheet?

Sheets have been in use since the 16th Century. However, Bertha Berman invented the fitted bed sheet on October 6, 1959. She realized a mattress needed a cover so it would not get spoiled. However, without the elastic placed on the corners of the sheet, it would not stay attached to the mattress.