How much is a half gram on a scale?

There are 28.35 grams in an ounce, so trying to determine a gram using an ounce scale is about impossible. A dime, which weighs about 2.35 grams, could be the closest weight approximation for a gram...if you then half your results. Halfing your results again should get you close to a half gram.