What is partially hydrogenated vegetable oil?

With hydrogenation, liquid vegetable oil turns into a semi-solid or solid. According to the FDA, manufacturers use hydrogenated oils to improve the texture, flavor stability, and shelf life of packaged foods. Partially hydrogenated oils contain trans fatty acids.