How did the oscars get their name?

The name was adopted in 1939. It is mentioned that the Academy Executive Secretary Margaret Herrick said when she first saw the award statue, it reminded her of her cousin who was nicknamed "Uncle Oscar".

---

The origin of the name “Oscar” for the Academy Awards statuette is disputed. Bette Davis claims she named the award after her first husband Harmon Oscar Nelson. Margaret Herrick, Academy executive secretary in 1931 claimed to have named the statuette after her cousin, Oscar Pierce.