How often do you water a fern plant?

Below 60 degrees, add water only when the soil is dry to the touch. Some of the more tropical ferns may grow poorly, preferring the higher temperatures. Consistent watering, keeping the soil evenly moist, not wet, is also key to the health and well being of the plants.