What's the difference between a shindig and a hootenanny?

A shindig is a large, lively party, especially one celebrating something. A hootenanny is an informal gathering with folk music and sometimes, dancing. So, the difference between the two is that a shindig is a larger, less formal gathering, and a hootenanny is a more intimate gathering.