How was mac and cheese invented?

. The exact origin of mac and cheese is unknown, , with the earliest known recorded mac'n'cheese recipe being scribbled down in 1769. Thomas Jefferson loved it while visiting France. He brought back noodle recipes and a pasta machine. As president, served macaroni and cheese at an 1802 state dinner.