What is so special about the solar eclipse?

A solar eclipse, specifically totality, the few minutes when the Sun is completely blocked by the Moon, is viewed by many people as the most beautiful sight in nature. It is the only time the human eye can directly observe the sun, without permanent damage or blindness.