Why is lava red?

The color of lava depends on its temperature. It starts out bright orange (1000-1150 C). As it cools the color changes to bright red (800-1000 C), then to dark red (650-800 C), and to brownish red (500-650 C). Solid lava is black (but can still be very hot).