How do you keep a jack o' lantern from rotting?

Cut the hole on the bottom of the pumpkin & remove. This allows moisture to escape rather than pool at the bottom of the pumpkin, which accelerates the rotting process. Spray interior with solution of one tablespoon bleach per quart of water to kill off bacteria that can lead to rot.