Do asian people wash their rice?

Asian cuisines almost always wash and soak rice to achieve the expected flavor and texture. Various degrees of stickiness are achieved by using sticky rice. Sushi rice recipes may add rice syrup and vinegar to achieve desired stickiness. However, these also require the rice to be washed first.