How long does the surgery take?

Depends on the surgical procedure, Hernia is a couple hours, scoping a knee, arthroscopic surgery takes about an hour. The attitude of surgery has changed in the last few decades. Now it is get the person out of recovery as soon as possible and encourage movement which is good.