When did fingerprinting begin?

In 1892 in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Inspector Eduardo Alvarez made the first criminal fingerprint identification. He was able to identify Francisca Rojas, a woman who murdered her two sons and cut her own throat in an attempt to place blame on another person.