Did paul newman win an oscar for cool hand luke?

Paul Newman was nominated for a 1968 Best Actor Oscar for his performance in Cool Hand Luke, but lost to Rod Steiger for In the Heat of the Night. He finally won an Oscar in 1987 for The Color of Money.