What is an h. r. diagram?

An H-R Diagram, is a chart outlining the life stages of stars, based on the colors and temperatures of the light coming from them. If a star is reddish, it is in one part of its life cycle. If it is blue, or yellow, or white, it is a different type of star in a different stage of life.