What kind of meat is bison?

Bison meat comes from the bison, which are in the subfamily, "bovinae." The American bison is also commonly known as a buffalo.

---

It is similar to beef but contains much less fat. Some say it lacks the flavor so ranchers began breeding beefalo as an alternative