Why are some fires blue?

The color of a fire is often an indicator of temperature and composition of combustion material. Blue flames are often indicative of complete combustion, such as burning methane or propane

---

A blue flame means complete combustion of the gas. With complete combustion, LPG (Propane) burns with a blue flame. Pure hydrocarbons like methane (refined natural gas), propane, butane and ethane gases also burn with a blue flame. These gases are all alkanes and are gas that burns with a blue flame