What's the nuclear explosion?

Modern nuclear weapons use Uranium/Plutonium which is forced together causing rapid fission, that is, breaking apart some of the atoms. The resulting mass is less than the original mass. Using E=mc2 will tell you the energy given off in the explosion. Hiroshima was less than the mass of a U.S. dime.