What is pink lightning?

In snowstorms, though rare, lightning color can appear green or pink. Atmospheric particles, haze, raindrops, or dust can affect the color of lightning by absorbing or diffracting a portion of the white light of lightning.

---

Elements in the air, such as nitrogen, or oxygen, can cause the lightning flash to take on a different color like pink or even blue.