What is the u. v. index of nine mean?

A UV Index reading of 8 to 10 means very high risk of harm from unprotected sun exposure. ... Minimize sun exposure between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. If outdoors, seek shade and wear protective clothing, a wide-brimmed hat, and UV-blocking sunglasses.