What is the league of extraordinary men?

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen is a comic book series, inspired by 1960 British film The League of Gentlemen, co-created by writer Alan Moore and artist Kevin O'Neill which began in 1999. The series spans four volumes, an original graphic novel, and a spin-off trilogy of graphic novella.