What is petasis?

The boronic acid Mannich reaction or Petasis is a three-component reaction involving boronic acids or boronate esters, carbonyl compounds, and amines. In a typical experiment, the amine is first introduced to a solution of the carbonyl component, and the boronic acid or boronate is added last.